The search box wants a number this office has refused to invent
People type how much a chiropractor costs because a sore back already has a budget taped to it. Rent is due, a shift cannot be missed, and a copay may or may not exist. The public answer from this practice is narrower than a blog roundup. One exam fee is on the website. A treatment menu is not. The Good Faith Estimate page says the self-pay fee schedule is still being finalized. Until that schedule is posted, a round per-visit figure copied from a national article is not a quote from this desk.
That gap is intentional. A printed menu pretends the next person needs the same number of visits and the same tools as the last person. The exam is what separates a stiff joint from a disc that is not moving well, a hip that is loading the back, or a problem that should be sent to another kind of office. Naming a series before that sorting is finished would be a guess. The doctors have not authorized a guess, and this guide will not fill the silence with one.
Dr. Matthew Richter put the published fee in a single place, on the new-patient exam page:
The first visit is where the real work happens: finding out what's actually causing the pain. I'd rather make that easy to say yes to. For $59 you get a full examination and a clear answer about what's going on. Then I know how to treat it, and you know what it takes, before you decide anything.
That paragraph is the whole public price. Read it as a sequence, not as a package of add-on coupons. You sit down for a consultation. The doctor examines you. X-rays are taken only when they are clinically indicated. A second visit, included in the same exam fee, is where the findings and the plan are explained in ordinary language. Each of those two visits is scheduled for about 30 to 35 minutes. The offer applies to someone who has never been a patient here, or who has not been seen here in more than two years. If you have been in during that window, call and ask how to be scheduled. Treatment, if you choose it, is a separate bill, and only after the number has been said out loud.
Four ways a bill can be paid
The payment options page is where the practice names the routes it actually uses. Four of them are published. A fifth route, for a job injury, is not.
-
Most PPO plans, most HMO plans, and Medicare. The site pairs that sentence with a warning that coverage varies. "Most" is not a promise about your card. One plan can pay for a spinal adjustment and deny the machine therapy sitting in the next room. Private-plan questions, including whether a referral is required before the plan will pay, are handled on the insurance guide. The Part B rule is narrower than a general "Medicare is accepted" line, and it has its own page at does Medicare cover chiropractic care. This guide does not name carriers. Kaiser is not stated as in network. It is also not stated as excluded. The desk has to look.
-
Self-pay by cash, check, card, or an HSA or FSA card. This is the route when there is no plan, when you decide not to use a plan, or when the plan declines the service you and the doctor actually want. The amount is still individual. It is explained on the report visit, or earlier if you ask for a written estimate before non-emergency care.
-
Financing through CareCredit or Cherry. Approval, the credit limit, and the terms belong to the lender. This page will not invent an interest rate, a monthly installment, or a claim that an application will be approved. If financing is the only way a plan of care would be possible, ask the desk to explain the application before you assume it can be finished in the hallway.
-
An attorney lien on a personal-injury case. The practice has said it can begin care on a lien when a lawyer is involved in an auto or other personal-injury matter. A lien is a payment arrangement. It is not a coupon, and it is not a statement that more visits produce a larger settlement. A work injury uses different paperwork. The new-patient form lists a workers' compensation injury as a reason to call, and the billing steps for that call are not confirmed on the payment page. Read that limit on the workers' compensation guide before you assume a personal-injury lien form covers a job injury.
What you can ask for when you are paying yourself
A Good Faith Estimate is a written preview of expected charges for someone who is uninsured, or who has coverage and is not using it for this care. It is not an explanation of benefits. It is not a contract that forces you to start, and it does not force the office to deliver a service the exam later shows you do not need.
The clinic's estimate page and the federal material under Ending Surprise Medical Bills (opens in a new tab) agree on the clocks. You may ask for the estimate any time before a non-emergency service. If you schedule at least three business days ahead, the written estimate is due within one business day after scheduling. If you schedule at least ten business days ahead, it is due within three business days after scheduling. Those clocks are there so the number arrives before the care, with at least one business day of notice when the visit was booked with enough lead time. A true emergency sits outside this particular right. A same-day ache still deserves a plain talk about money. It simply does not fit the advance-scheduling timer.
The estimate should list the items and services reasonably expected to be provided together. For care that repeats, it may cover as long as twelve months of expected care. Keep your copy. If a later bill is at least $400 over the estimate, you can start the patient-provider dispute process. The clinic page sends people who want the federal steps to the CMS site and to the No Surprises Help Desk at 1-800-985-3059. Using that process is not supposed to be treated as a reason to reduce the quality of care.
Two boundaries belong next to the right. The estimate reflects what is reasonably expected on the day it is written. If the examination changes the plan, the charges can change, and that change should be said before more care is added. Separately, the office has written that its public self-pay fee schedule is unfinished. Until a list is posted, estimates are built one person at a time rather than copied from a chart on the wall. That is why the photograph marked for this page is an empty consult desk, with no prices on a board. A board full of numbers would be fiction.
A wage table is not your bill
The Bureau of Labor Statistics handbook page on chiropractors (opens in a new tab) describes training, not a fee ticket. The credential is a Doctor of Chiropractic degree, about four years of professional study after at least three years of undergraduate work, followed by a state license. The same page publishes a median wage for people who do the job. That figure is earnings. It is not the price of a visit in this office, and it will not be reprinted here as if it were.
Who may practice in California is a licensing question. The California Board of Chiropractic Examiners (opens in a new tab) is the state agency for that license. A license answers "may this person practice." It does not set a fee for an adjustment, a decompression session, a laser session, or shockwave, and this office has not posted those session fees either.
Medicare's chiropractic services (opens in a new tab) page is the other place people look for a dollar amount. It describes coinsurance, not a menu. After the Part B deductible, you pay 20 percent of the Medicare-approved amount for the spinal service Part B actually covers. This guide does not print an approved amount in dollars, because a screenshot from a fee website would pretend to be a bill this office has not created. Budgeting also has to include what that benefit leaves out. X-rays, massage, and acupuncture that a chiropractor orders are outside it. Shockwave, Class IV laser, and computer-driven spinal decompression are not the spinal-manipulation benefit either. If they appear on a plan, they are not being paid under the sentence Medicare wrote about an adjustment.
Questions that turn a vague quote into your number
Bring a short list to the report visit. The point is to leave with a figure you can accept or decline, not with a slogan.
- What is the working explanation for the pain, and what else was considered.
- Which care is being recommended now, and which options were set aside.
- If a plan is in play, which lines has the desk already checked, and which lines are still unknown.
- If insurance pays nothing, what is the self-pay figure for the care being proposed.
- What would make the doctor stop, change the plan, or send you somewhere else.
Ask for the written estimate when you book if you already know you will not use insurance. Ask again if the plan of care changes. Bring a photo ID. Bring the card even when you are unsure the plan will pay. If a lawyer is handling a crash, say that when you schedule so the lien conversation happens before a stack of visits, not after. The first visit page puts those two appointments in order. Nothing there promises a particular therapy. The price conversation and the clinical conversation are the same meeting. You should not be asked to buy one without the other.
If another site or another phone call offers a per-visit price before anyone has examined you, set it next to the rule this practice is using. One published exam fee. Then a number that has your name on it. Anything more specific than that, posted in advance of the exam, is not this office.
Questions people ask
Why won't the office post a fee menu?
A menu would pretend every person needs the same visits and the same tools. The exam separates a joint problem, a disc problem, a hip that is driving the pain, or a case that belongs in another office. Until that sorting is finished, a posted per-visit fee is a guess, and this practice has declined to publish guesses. Your own charge is explained on the report visit, before you agree. If you are paying yourself, ask for a written estimate instead of copying a blog.
What is the only price on the website?
Dr. Richter's published exam offer is the only dollar figure the site prints. He describes it as a full examination and a clear answer about what is going on, so you know what care would take before you decide. In practice that is a consultation, the exam, X-rays when indicated, and the report visit. Each visit runs about half an hour. Treatment is billed separately if you choose it. If you were seen in the past two years, call. The new-patient offer may not apply.
Can I get a Good Faith Estimate before I come in?
Yes, when you are uninsured or you are choosing not to use insurance. Ask as you schedule. Book at least three business days ahead and the clinic page says the written estimate is due within one business day after scheduling. Book at least ten business days ahead and it is due within three business days. The point is a number before non-emergency care. Save the copy. If a later bill is at least $400 over that estimate, you can dispute it.
Which payment methods does the office actually name?
Four routes are published. Most PPO plans, most HMO plans, and Medicare, always with the warning that coverage varies. Self-pay by cash, check, card, or HSA and FSA funds. Financing through CareCredit or Cherry, where the lender, not this page, sets approval and terms. An attorney lien on a personal-injury case. A job injury is not that fourth route. The intake form says to call about workers' compensation, and those billing steps are still unconfirmed, so they are not listed as a way to pay.
Should I trust a per-visit price I saw on another site?
Not as a quote from this desk. Occupational wage tables describe what clinicians earn. They are not your bill, and this guide does not reprint them as one. Medicare describes coinsurance for a narrow spinal service. It does not price laser, shockwave, decompression, or X-rays as that service. Coupon sites invent round numbers before anyone examines you. Bring the question to the report visit, or request the written self-pay estimate if a plan is not in play. The useful figure is attached to your findings.
Sources
- Ending Surprise Medical Bills β Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
- Good Faith Estimate β Richter Family Chiropractic
- Chiropractors β U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook
- California Board of Chiropractic Examiners β State of California
- Chiropractic services β Medicare.gov
General education from Richter Family Chiropractic, not a personal diagnosis or a promise of results. Individual results vary. Chest pain, trouble breathing, sudden weakness, or loss of bowel or bladder control needs emergency care, not this page.
Waiting on the clinic
- Medical sign-off. Dr. Matthew Richter, DC still needs to review and sign this page. Until that date is recorded, treat the page as a draft for clinical review, not as signed medical advice.
- Doctor's own words. A short recorded statement from Dr. Richter or Dr. Choi belongs here. Do not publish a quote until one of them says it on the record.
- Clinic photo still needed. The marked frame is waiting on a real photograph from the office. No stand-in patient or treatment photo will be generated.
- Approved price ranges. The practice has not published a fee for this service. Visit 2 includes an exact quote. Add a range here only after Charles or Dr. Richter approves the numbers in writing.
Canonical URL: https://guide.richterfamilychiro.com/how-much-does-a-chiropractor-cost. This page does not redirect.
